Everybody talks but only few connects


Last Thursday, August 30, I attended a seminar held at Polytechnic University of the Philippines entitled “Everybody talks, Few Connects”. The resource speaker was Mrs. Lillian Ng Gui who is a consultant psychologist, christian counselor and a life coach. We may often see and hear of her in many of the shows of GMA7 (a TV station in the Philippines) like Protege, Fashbook, Survivor Philippines Seasons 3 and 4, and Personalan. I could say that she was very good in conducting the seminar. She didn’t make the seminar boring but she made it very alive, informative, and interesting.

It’s all about CONNECTING WITH OTHERS. According to her, connecting increases your influence, connecting helps in every areas of your life, connecting is all about others, connecting always requires energy, and connecting is more skill than natural talent.

What I learned from this is that we must use our connection to help others. We must not degrade people through it. It’s just that we influence people in the very positive way and not just for the benefit of ourselves. The skills for connecting to others are used to find our common grounds, to make out talk simple, to capture the people’s interest, and to inspire them and to be authentic. I get to realized connecting to others is a skill that we have to learn. It’s not just we talk to them and that’s it. It must be something that we must begin today for what people see, hear, understand, and feel. It is really important that we get to recharge energy for a better connection tomorrow. So that, we are ready enough to listen to others and others are ready to listen to us. It’s just being fair in every ways. We are given all of these natural talents, but you know, skills are not natural. We get to learn them. No human is born good, born to be a saint. Our skills are our way towards being good. We have the right to choose between good and bad. We learned values at home and at school, right? I really loved what Mrs. Lillian said, “Saints have a past, sinners have a future.” How true was that!

ImageImageImage

She also added that what makes people listen are through relationships, insights, success, ability, and sacrifice. As people connecting to other kinds of people, we must not only be the ones who are being eager to connect at first, we also must learn how to listen, talk properly and work with them properly.

I really learned a lot in the seminar. I was really not used to attend seminars before but this one really caught my attention. It taught me that I mustn’t be afraid of going first in everything because this is what’ll help me someday when I already get to work and have my own job in my field. I’m hoping everyone also will learn from this.

I write about this because this is one of the things we often forget. Everybody talks and say what they want. But, this is my question: Does everyone connect properly at the same time?

Think again and learn 🙂

2 thoughts on “Everybody talks but only few connects

  1. I love that you wrote this. It is so true. I am going to keep this in mind with my future blog posts…thank you!

Leave a Reply

